AAP stages protest against Gauri Lankesh's killing; Demands immediate arrest of culprits


Ludhiana, September 11, 2017: Aam Aadmi Party Ludhiana staged an impressive protest lead by District Ludhiana(City) President Daljit Singh Grewal, District President Ludhiana Rural Ranjit Singh Dhamot, State General Secretary Ahbaab Singh Grewal, Member State Team Darshan Singh Shankar and Former Zone Coordinator Suresh Goel against the brutal murder of noted journalist Gauri Lankesh, a critic of the Hindutva politics and the editor of Kannada weekly Lankesh Patrike outside Mini Secretariat, here today. The protesters keeping banners and placards in hands kept on shouting slogan against the anti social fundamentalists forces who were bent upon to curve the freedom of expression in the country and demanding the immediate arrest of the culprits.
The AAP leaders expressing concern over growing attacks on journalists across the country, describe the killing as the blackest day not only in the history of journalism, but also for the democracy. They asserted that AAP will always stand by the freedom of press. The leaders stressed that the government should crack the case without any delay and give exemplary punishment to the preparators of crime, so that nobody in future could dare to suppress the voices of media with violence. They also appealed the like minded people to come forward in a big way to raise a strong voice against the violence , which was a serious danger to the freedom of expression.
Later, a deputation of AAP submitted a memorandum addressed to President of India with demand for strict action to the Additional Deputy Commissioner Ludhiana in his office.
Prominent among others who participated included Jiwan Singh Sangowal, Anil Dutt Falii, Gurpreet Lapran, Ravinderpal Singh Pali, Rajinderpal Kaur, Master Hari Singh, Puneet Sahni, Gurdarshan Singh, Sarpanch Dharminder Singh , Sukjraj Singh, Sukhvinder Singh , JS Ghuman, Harjit Singh , Bal Krishan Pappi, Adv. Paramveer Singh, Arun Pal, Harinder Singh, Parminder Singh, Harbans Kaur, Neetu Vohra Matharoo, Harcharan Singh, Prof. Tejpal singh and Preetinder Singh.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017