Abrogation of Article 370 and converting J&K state into Union Territory unconstitutional: CPI

Abrogation of Article 370 and converting J&K state

Ludhiana, August 12, 2019: The Communist Party of India (CPI) Ludhiana district unit has termed the abrogation of Article 370 and converting J&K state into Union Territory unconstitutional and demanded its revocation.

In a meeting of the district council presided over by Comrades Ramesh Rattan, Gurnam Singh Sidhu and Surinder Singh Jalaldiwal, it was decided to build public opinion against this dictatorial trend.

Com D P Maur - District Secretary said that this step has been taken without taking the people of the region into confidence. It is for the first time in the history of independent India that any state has been converted into Union Territory. Whereas there are ten regions where similar law is operative, the action has been taken only in case of J&K. This has been done with communal angle. This step will further marginalize and alienate the Kashmiri people. The this will help return of Kashmiri pundits is a farce because there is no bar on their return. It will only benefit the big corporate to buy lands in Kashmir. The idea behind of this move to change the demography of the region is against the international law. Whole exercise is a part of the step towards the concept of Hindu Rashtra. This is also part of total centralization of power and minimizing the importance of aspirations of different states. The RSS and its outfits never participated in the freedom struggle rather they sided with the British, therefore the importance of constitution has no meaning for them. But lakhs of peoples sacrificed for the independence of the country. There sacrifice will not be allowed to go in vain. The party also decided to struggle against the high cost of electricity in the state.

In addition the party supported the struggle of the trade unions against the code of wages bill and occupation safety and health bills.

Those who participated in the discussion include Comrades M S Bhatia, Gurnam Singh Sidhu, Ramesh Rattan, Gulzar Goria, Dr Gulzar Pandher, Chamkaur Singh, Surinder Singh Jaladiwal and Moh. Shafiq.

Monday, August 12, 2019