All India Inter University Table Tennis Championship at Chitkara University


Chitkara University, Himachal Pradesh was bestowed with the responsibility of hosting North zone and All India Inter University Table Tennis Championship (Men & Women) 2017 by Association of Indian Universities (AIU) was organized from February 7 -16, 2017 under the stewardship of Mr.Anli Rana, Assistant Director, sports had amazing moments of glory.
The championship started on 7 February 2017, with North Zone Table Tennis tournament witnessing a participation of 60 team’s men and 55 team’s women was inaugurated by Arjuna Awardee Ms. Suman Rawat, Joint Director Sports, Himachal Pradesh. She was glad to see an equal number of Women Teams participating in the tournament.
The campus bloomed with participants from 60 Universities who displayed their talent and left no stone unturned to win the championship.
In the North zone, Women Team from University of Delhi defeated University of Allahabad in a nail biting thrilling encounter to clinch the Women's Championship Trophy. University of Allahabad secured second position and Punjabi University, Patiala was third in the league. Lucknow University Team was the fourth in the Championship.
Thrilling North zone battle saw University of Delhi Men's Team crowned Champions for the North Zone Inter University Table Tennis Championship. Panjab University, Chandigarh bagged second position while Lucknow University, UP was third. G.N.D.U., Amritsar was fourth in the league.
It was an honor for the Winning Teams to be honored by Shri Dharmendra Singh Yadav, Olympian & Arjuna Awardee (Boxing), Ex Assistant Commandant C.I.S.F, who was the Guest of Honor for the Grand Finale of North Zone Inter University Table Tennis Championship (M&W) 2017.
All India Inter University Table Tennis Championship (M&W) was a grand success as the event culminated on 16 February 2017 with Women's Team from University of Mumbai Winning the Championship. University of Delhi stood second while University of Calcutta came third.
Among Men’s Team, University of Delhi lifted the Winner's Trophy. SRM University, Chennai came second and the third position was bagged by University of Mumbai.
The Winning teams were honored by Two Leading Women’s Ms. Sandeep Kaur, Former Captain (Indian Hockey Team for Women) & Dr Madhu Chitkara, Pro Chancellor, Chitkara University representing true example of women empowerment.
All the teams on the campus enjoyed the unbeatable hospitality of Chitkara University. Ample number of activities and events were organized by the university in the evening, where participants made memories they would cherish lifelong.
Dr. Varinder Kanwar, Registrar said that,”Chitkara University is delighted and honored to host an event of such grandeur and is grateful to AIU for trusting and giving us the National level opportunity”.

Friday, February 17, 2017