Annual Convocation of CMC, Christian Dental College, College of Nursing and College of Physiotherapy


Ludhiana, March 23, 2017: The Annual Convocation of Christian Medical College, Christian Dental College, College of Nursing and College of Physiotherapy, Ludhiana was held on 23rd March 2017 with traditional grandeur in the College Campus Shri Prasanta Kumar Swain, Chief Postmaster General, Punjab & UT, Department of Posts, Ministry of Communications, Government of India, Chandigarh the Chief Guest and Dr.Joy G Paul, Consultant Urologist Los Angeles the Guest of Honour for this year’s convocation.
Dr. Abraham G. Thomas, Director welcomed the gathering, Dr. Tejinder Singh, Acting Principal, Christian Medical College, administered the Hippocratic Oath to the Graduates and presented the Annual Report of the College highlighting the achievements, awards and honours won by the faculty and the students. The Baba Farid University of Health Sciences was represented by Dr. B.S. Aulakh, Professor of Urology and Transplant Surgery.
Addressing the gathering Shri Prasanta Kumar Swain lauded the role of Christian Medical College Ludhiana since last 123 years in service to humanity. He complimented the graduates on their success and urged them introspect on the purpose of medical practioners in terms of healing touch that they are supposed to provide suffering humanity. He reminded them of the challenges and unfulfilled aspirations to provide quality health care to people of the country.
71 MBBS Graduates were awarded the degrees. 37 Dental College graduates were awarded. 57 Nursing students and 12 students from Physiotherapy College were awarded with degrees.
Students excelling in various academic activities were awarded Prizes and Medals by the Chief Guest. Faireena Singh, Sahir Bhatti, Christopher Peter, Khushboo Saluja, Anusha Singhania, Macwan Annie Augustin were the prominent prize winners. Anu Singh won the Vipin Khanna memorial Gold Medal for best intern. Dr. Manish Lalwani was awarded Dr. Jaswant Kaur Gill Memorial award for best outgoing Medicine Resident. Dr. Richa was awarded Dr. Sheila Singh Paul Memorial Award for best resident in Pediatrics. Dr. Sophia Garg was awarded Dr. Abraham G. Thomas awarded for the best outgoing resident in Surgery, while Dr. Anirudh Sharma received the Faculty award for the best outgoing Orthopedics resident. Dr. Aparajita Singh received the Shri Janak Raj Singla Memorial award for best outgoing in Radiodiagnosis. Overview of faculty achievements was presented by the Principal of the Medical College, dental College, College of Nursing and the College of Physiotherapy.
The Association of Medical Alumni awarded the Life Time Service award to Dr. Vincent K. Solomon and Dr. Meenakshi Solomon. Dr. V.K. Satija memorial Award for best Clinical Teacher was presented to Dr. Kavita Mandrella while the batch of 1976 Excellence in Teaching Award was awarded to Dr. Naveen Kakkar. Dr. Eileen B. Snow-CMC Alumni award for best all- round graduate to Dr. Sahir Bhatti.
Dr. William Bhatti, Medical Superintendent proposed the vote of thanks.

Thursday, March 23, 2017