The Annual Convocation of Dayanand Medical College and Hospital, Ludhiana being held on Friday.

Ludhiana, March 8, 2013: The Annual Convocation of Dayanand Medical College and Hospital, Ludhiana was held today in Dumra Auditorium with traditional grandeur and gaiety.

As many as 36 medical graduates of the MBBS Batch 2007 were awarded degrees and prizes.

 The chief guest, during the convocation, was Director and Senior Professor of Neurology from Sree Chitra Thirunal Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology-Dr K Radhakrishnan.

A renowned Neurologist, Dr K Radhakrishnan has specialized in Epilepsy, Stroke and Neuroepidemiology. He did his M.D (Internal Medicine) and D.M (Neurology) from the Post Graduate Institute for Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh. Dr. Radhakrishnan had done Fellowships in Neuroepidemiology, EEG and Epilepsy at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN, USA. He is the first neurologist in the country to be awarded MNAMS (Neurology) in 1980. In 1981, he won Gold Medal for the best research from Neurological Society of India. He was awarded the prestigious Mayo Clinical Award in 1994. He has over 200 scientific publications to his credit and edited several scientific books. Dr. Radhakrishnan is  Fellow in Indian Academy of Medical Sciences and American Academy of Neurology, and a Member of American Neurological Association. In addition, he is a Life Member of Neurological Society of India, Indian Epilepsy Association, Indian Epilepsy Society and Indian Academy of Neurology. He is the immediate past President of the Indian Academy of Neurology.

The convocation began with the welcome address by Dean Academics, Dr Rajoo Singh Chhina, who also introduced the chief guest to the audience. In his address, Dr Rajoo Singh said that Dr K Radhakrishnan is an internationally-acclaimed neurologist, a loved teacher and a renowned researcher in the field of medicine.

Principal Dr Daljit Singh read out the annual report of the college and highlighted the achievements and progress made by the esteemed faculty and various departments in the last one year.

The chief guest-Dr K Radhakrishnan extended warmest congratulations to the graduating students who will be taking up the responsibility of delivering quality healthcare to the society. He urged the fresh graduates to translate their Hippocratic oath into reality and heal the sick to bring solace and happiness in this country where inequality and poverty still exists. In his address, Dr Radhakrishnan said that the profession of medicine is prestigious, with ample scope for growth.

Appreciating the progress made by DMCH, Dr K Radhakrishana said that the institute, with its graduate, post-graduate and super-specialty programmes, is one of the most prestigious medical institutions of the region.

Sunil Kant Munjal, President of the DMCH Managing Society, congratulated the graduates and asked them to fulfill their duty with utmost dedication and within the limits of medical ethics. He exhorted the medical graduates to keep faith in their profession.

Dean Academics Dr Rajoo Singh Chhina administered the Hippocratic Oath to the fresh graduates before presenting them their degrees. The gold medal for the best graduate was presented to Dr Satjeet Deol and the silver medal to Dr Nitika Mahajan. The Best All-Rounder and Best Intern Award also went to Dr Gurkamal Kaur Toor.

The chief guest awarded 47 prizes and 18 medals to the students of various batches who had excelled in various subjects.

Secretary of DMCH Managing Society, Prem Kumar Gupta said that Dayanand Medical College and Hospital is truly a proud symbol of the advances made in the area of medical science and health care. He also added that it is an honour today for these medical graduates to be associated with such prestigious institution.

The other dignitaries who graced te occasion were Vice-Presidents of DMCH Managing Society Gian Chand Dhawan and Sh Amrit Nagpal, Secretary of the Society Prem Kumar Gupta, Treasurer Satish Sanwalka, members of the Managing Society, Medical Sutpds.

Dr Sandeep Puri and Dr Ashwani Chaudhary, Chief Cardiologist Dr GS Wander and Assistant Dean Academics Dr Sandeep Kaushal

Friday, March 8, 2013