Chittesh ends Vishnu's win-spree in JK Tyre Racing

Coimbatore, July 13 (IANS) Vishnu Prasad's spree of five consecutive wins in the JK FB02 class came to an end here Sunday when Kolhapur's Chittesh Mandody held his nerves to win the final race of the second round of the JK Tyre Racing Championship at the Kari Motor Speedway.

Having chalked up his fourth win Saturday, the 20-year old Chennai-based Prasad, who had won all three races in the first round last month, topped in the day's first race for his fifth consecutive success that he achieved after the race was stopped after 11 laps due to heavy rains.

Prasad's hopes of a clean sweep were dashed in the day's last race which he finished in fifth position. Mandody, making the best of the reverse grid start came out on top in the last race that was run in testing conditions with strong winds blowing across a drying track.

As Saturday, both races Sunday witnessed a fine exhibition of driving by India's two international stars, Aditya Patel and Armaan Ebrahim, both participating as guest drivers, but starting from the last row. Ebrahim came in second and third while Patel was third and second in the two races run Sunday.

Earlier, championship leader Diljith T Shaji of Dark Don Racing held off team-mate Sarosh Hataria to win the Formula LGB 4 race while Bonnie Thomas chalked up his first win of the season by in the VW Polo R Cup quite comfortably.

The results:

JK FB02 (Race-1, 11 laps): Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) 1 (12mins, 38.732secs); Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) 2 (12:43.429); Ananth Shanmugam (Bangalore) 3 (12:45.031). Race-2 (15 laps): Chittesh Mandody (Kolhapur) 1 (16:53.705); Akhil Rabindra (Bangalore) 2 (17:08.862); Krishnaraj Mahadik (Mumbai) 3 (17:13.559).

Formula LGB 4 (15 laps): Diljith T Shaji (Dark Don Racing) 1 (20:10.248); Sarosh Hataria (Dark Don Racing) 2 (20:11.910).

VW Polo R Cup (15 laps): Bonnie Thomas (Kerala) 1 (19:14.269); Karminder Pal Singh (New Delhi) 2 (19:22.465); Yatin Magu (New Delhi) 3 (19:30.268).