Computer Science group wins Overall Champion in Annual Athletic Meet held at Lyallpur Khalsa College


Winners in Annual Athletic Meet held at Lyallpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar on Monday.

City Air News photo: Amit Anand

Jalandhar, February 24, 2014: Sportsmanship, stamina, strength and skill were at display in events like 100 mts Race, Short Put  Throw,  Long Jump, and Relays in which boys and girls enthusiastically participated in the 62nd Annual Athletic Meet of the college held today.

The event saw participation of over 375 students of the different wings of the College such as Arts, Sciences, Commerce, Computers, and Physiotherapy in around 13 events.

The meet was inaugurated by Pawan Kumar Tinu, Chief Parliamentary Secretary, Punjab and a promising cricketer during his school days.

Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest said that sports in itself an education and which equips the students with sound and quick decision making capabilities. He urged the present students to realize that the need of today is to ensure that our youth  participates more and more in outdoor activities, so that the physical aspects of all-round development of personality are not ignored. Encouraging the sportspersons, he announced a sports tracksuit for all the winners who have won position in today’s events.

Welcoming the chief guest, the Principal Dr. GS Samra said that one of the basic goals of the college is to encourage  sports so that energy of the youth is channelised in a positive way. It not only protects the youth from social evils like drug addiction but also inculcates in them the spirit of sportsmansip, competitiveness and leadership. He specially mentioned that the playgrounds of the college have produced renowned sportsperson of the country which include former Hockey Captains Padma Shri Ajitpal Singh and Padma Shri Pargat Singh. The College has created history by winning the Teja Singh Samundari Overall Sports Championship Trophy of Guru Nanak Dev University with record points for 12 times, out of which 11 times it has been won consecutively.

The annual sports report was read by Dr. Jaspal Singh, Head Physical Education and Sports Department. Prizes to the winners were given by the Chief Guest along with Principal who appreciated the performances of athletes in all the events. The vote of thanks was made by Dr. Kulwant Sandhu Dean, Sports of the College.

The occasion was made lively by the witty and running commentary by Prof G.S. Buttar and Prof. Harpreet Kaur.

Best athlete boys: Manjinder Singh

Best athlete girls: Kamla Rani

Overall Champion: Computer Science group.//jalandhar news,  jalandhar current news,  jalandhar news live, jalandhar breaking news, jalandhar headlines, jalandhar latest news, india news, punjab news, punjab news live, punjab news online, punjab news, punjab news headlines, punjab breaking news, india news, punjab news,

Monday, February 24, 2014