Deputation of Punjab Pradesh Beopar Mandal meets AETC Ludhiana Bhupinder Gupta


Submits memorandum regarding problems being faced by traders’
Ludhiana, August 16, 2018: A deputation of Punjab Pradesh Beopar Mandal (PPBM) met Bhupinder Gupta, AETC, Ludhiana, on Thursday, and submitted a memorandum regarding the problems being faced by the traders’ community across the state.
Traders highlighted various issues related to GST and pending VAT refunds. Gupta gave a patient gearing to the deputation and assured to look into all the issues. He told that most of the issues had already been taken with the higher authorities. He said the department had always tried to maintain cordial relations with the traders.
Gupta categorically told that the department was always ready to help the traders’ community, which got generated revenue to the state government. He said the department never wanted to harass any trader for one or another reason, adding in case any departmental official found indulged into corrupt practices or harassing the traders would be dealt with seriously.
To a query raised by the deputationists, Gupta told that VAT refunds worth about Rs.300 crore were pending in Ludhiana district. He hoped the pending VAT refunds would be released by the state government in the near future. He also gave his mobile number to the traders to call him at any time in case they face any difficulty.
Speaking about GST, Gupta told that GST was introduced on July 1, 2017 and since then about 500 amendments had taken place following demands/objections raised by traders and others concerned. He said the process of amendments had not ended yet, adding the GST related problems being faced by local traders had been brought to the notice of GST Council by the state government through Punjab Finance Minister.
Those included in the deputation included PPBM state general secretary Sunil Mehra, state secteray Mohinder Aggarwal, district president Arvinder Singh Makkar, district secretary Parveen Goyal and others including Pawan Batra, Ramesh Garg, Ravi Dhawan, Sushil Jain, Rakesh Vohra, Ashok Garg, Ramesh Garg, Ramesh mahajan, Ashwani Mahajan and Harsh Thapar.

Thursday, August 16, 2018