Haryana government to honour all 22 medal winners of 21st Commonwealth Games


Chandigarh, April 16, 2018: Haryana government will honour all 22 medal winners of 21st Commonwealth Games in a function to be orgainsed here on April 26, 2018. Every gold medal winner will get cash award of Rs 1.5 crore, silver medal winner Rs 75 lakh and bronze medal winner Rs 50 lakh.

This was disclosed by Chief Minister, Mr Manohar Lal while addressing a public meeting at village Siwah in Panipat today.
Describing Haryana as a hub of sports, he said that Haryana is a small state having just two per cent population of the country, the players have brought laurels at national and international level with their performances. Indian contingent finished third in the medal tally with a total of 66 medals in CWG, Haryana players especially the women led the medal tally for India with a total of 22 individual medals which is 33 per cent. It is a matter of great pleasure that Ms Santosh Kumari, daughter of Siwah, had brought laurels to the state and country by winning gold medal last year in All India Police Games.

He said that Haryana is the only state in the country where cash award of Rs 6 crore is given for winning the gold medal in Olympics, Rs 4 crore for silver medal and Rs 2.5 crore for bronze medal. In addition, the players would be appointed as HCS and HPS officers as well as in other government jobs according to their achievements.

Transport Minister, Mr Krishan Lal Panwar, MP, Mr Ashwani Chopra, MLAs, Mr Mahipal Dhanda, Mrs Rohita Rewari and Mr Ravinder Macchrauli and others were also present on this occasion.

Monday, April 16, 2018