Kapil Sharma declared CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2013 in Entertainment category


Kapil Sharma.

Amritsar, December 26, 2013: Stand-up comedian Kapil Sharma has been declared the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2013, in the Entertainment category. Hailing from the holy city of Amritsar, Kapil Sharma is currently one of the most popular stand-up comedians in India. He was the winner of the ‘The Great Indian Laughter Challenge 3’ and currently hosts his own show ‘Comedy Nights with Kapil’, which has won him nationwide acclaim and acceptance. He has hosted countless number of TV shows and award ceremonies. His quick wit and the ability to find humour in any situation makes him one of the most unique and popular comedians in the industry today.
The other illustrious nominees in the category included actors like Deepika Padukone, Farhan Akhtar, Hrithik Roshan, Shah Rukh Khan and Team ‘Lunchbox’.
The award was given to Kapil Sharma in a star-studded awards ceremony held at the Taj Palace in New Delhi today.    
The winners across other different categories awarded at the 8th edition of Indian of The Year 2013 are:
•         Politics - Arvind Kejriwal: For pulling off a stunning political debut and forcing two national parties to substantially alter their electoral strategies in less than 18 months.
•         Business – Rajiv Bajaj: For being the world’s most profitable auto company with 20 per cent margins, a sound export strategy and being a key differentiator in a tough year.
•         Sports – P V Sindhu: For keeping the great run of Indian Badminton going and winning the singles medal at the World Championship.
•         Public Service - ADR & Lily Thomas: For piloting the PIL which led to amendment of the law that prevents convicted politicians from contesting in polls.
•         Special Achievement - Team ITBP & NDRF: For their sterling work in the aftermath of the Uttarakhand tragedy.
•         Special Achievement - Deepika Padukone: For constantly reinventing herself as a leading lady with exceptional acting abilities and for delivering a slew of mega hits in 2013, including ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, ‘Chennai Express’ and ‘Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela’.
•         Outstanding Achievement - Leander Paes: For being an ageless wonder and becoming the oldest man to win a tennis Grand Slam at the age of 40.
•         Outstanding Achievement - Ramakant Achrekar: For being the most dynamic Indian cricket coach and nurturing exceptional young cricketing talents in Mumbai which includes the ‘God of Cricket’, Sachin Tendulkar.
 •         Lifetime Achievement - Late Justice Jagdish Sharan Verma: For being the face of Judicial activism in India through his landmark judgements and for his lifelong contribution in the field of law and justice.
•         CNN-IBN Indian Of The Year 2013 – Stop Acid Attacks: For bringing together survivors of acid attacks, educating people about the abuse and pushing the government for long-term medical treatment of victims.
Instituted in 2006, this is the eighth edition of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year awards. Over the years, these awards have become the benchmark for credibility and excellence in media awards. They have been held in high regard for precision, providing complete information about the process of nomination and selection of the winners. The selection process involves the IBN Editorial Board drawing a list of nominees, which is then authorised by a highly distinguished jury comprising personalities bestowed with the most prestigious Padma honours.
Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, said, “We at CNN-IBN are privileged to honour these distinguished citizens for their accomplishments and contributions in taking India forward. We congratulate all the winners for their extraordinary contribution.”

Thursday, December 26, 2013