Prior to Lok Sabha elections Himachal BJP plans to give another white wash to party


Dharamsala, August 29, 2013: To make an upper hand in the coming Lok Sabha elections of 2014, Himachal BJP has plan to give another white wash to the party.

Highly reliable sources say that ,on the eve of  2014 Lok Sabha elections, the disciplinary committee BJP Himachal ,has recommended expulsion of over two dozen leaders for indulging in anti-party activities during the last assembly elections of the state in 2012.BJP state chief, Satpal Singh Satti, has sought action against over 25 leaders such leaders.

The complaints of anti-party activities were more from Kangra district, where the party lost out due to infighting. In Kangra that comprises 15 assembly segments, BJP had to face the heat of rebels in nine assembly segments. Leaders at the block levels had either supported the BJP rebels or had sided with splinter group Himachal Lokhit Party, which had filed nearly 40 candidates in the state.

“We have received recommendations from the disciplinary committee and appropriate action will be taken after due consultations with senior leaders of the party,” said state party chief Satpal Singh Satti

It is said that this recommendation is due to the complaints from official candidates, against whom these leaders have done  anti-party activities. Earlier too party's disciplinary committee issued show-cause notices to nearly 157 leaders. And the leaders who rebelled against the party during the elections were expelled for contesting against the official nominees.

Those who were expelled are former minister and six-time MLA Roop Singh Thakur from Sundernagar, Kamla Patial from Dharamsala, Bhupendra Chauhan from Bhatiyyat, Sudha Sushant, wife of expelled BJP Lok Sabha member Rajan Sushant, from Fatehpur, Sanjay Guleria from Jwali, Damodar Chauhan from Nachan, Hira Nand Kashyap from Solan, Mahant Ram Chowdhary from Balh, Rajendra Rana from Sujanpur and Shyam Lal Thakur from Mandi.

While three BJP rebels - Pawan Kajal, Rajinder Rana and Manohar Dhiman - later became associate members of the Congress

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, former union minister Shanta Kumar, BJP national general secretary JP Nadda and national BJYM president Anurag Thakur are of the view that rebellion in the BJP had cost the party dear in the elections as it could win 26 seats.

Thursday, August 29, 2013