Punjab police clinches team championship for 12th time in 19th all India police lawn tennis tournament


Ashish Kapoor wins for 16th time in men’s singles

Chandigarh December 1, 2018: Punjab police has won team championship for twelfth time in the 19th all India police lawn tennis tournament held in south club Kolkata in which 18 teams from different states took part.

Disclosing this a spokesperson of State police said Punjab police team comprising of Ranjit Singh AIG NRI wing, Ashish Kapoor AIG vigilance bureau, Rakesh Kumar AIG Crime and Dev Kumar DSP STF have defeated Orissa, Karnataka and CRPF teams in their league matches. In the quarter finals, Punjab police defeated CISF and West Bengal in semifinals. He added that in the final match Punjab police routed ITBP team and won team championship after 6 years.

In the men’s singles Ashish Kapoor AIG won by beating Akshay Ahuja and claimed victory for 16th times in this championship. In addition to this Ashish Kapoor along with Ram Kumar have also clinched the doubles event by beating Akshay Ahuja and partner in the finals. It is mentioned here that Ashish Kapoor had already won gold medal during the world police and fire games.

Saturday, December 1, 2018