UCPMA delegation meets DETC


Ludhiana, September 17, 2012: An urgent meeting of the Office Bearers of United Cycle and Parts Manufacturers Association (UCPMA) was held with the District Excise and Taxation Commissioner, Kamalpreet Kaur Brar, under the presidentship of Gurmeet Singh Kular.

They held discussion regarding VAT refund of association members.

The officer was apprised that huge amount of VAT refund was pending with the department. In reply, the officer, assured to look into the matter and said the cases would be finalised with further loss of time

The UCPMA delegates also spoke about the non defaulters of the members up to the fourth stage of the transaction between the buyer and seller. The members showed their resentment about this condition being imposed by the department.

K.K Seth brought to the notice of the Commissioner that the  UCPMA members who were exporting their products were being asked by some of the ETOs to produce proof regarding the receipt of the Bill amount. He sought that this practice should be stopped. “The DETC was kind enough to issue instructions to the ETOs not to stress on the receipt of the Bill”, said Kar.

Further, Kular demanded that all the cases to be forwarded by the association seeking VAT refund should be cleared immediately. He said the DETC acceded to his demand.


He told that they also took up the issue of c form. He said the DETC was apprised that as and when any member of the association visited the department to get C-form, they were asked to give the details of the parties to whom these were to be issued and for how much amount.

He told that the UCPMA members requested that this practice should be stopped as from everything was to be going online from October 10.

Jaswinder Singh Birdi, informed that as and when any member submit return to the department and if anything was found missing such cases were kept pending. He suggested that the members should be informed through SMS by the department so that the same might be removed.

Members informed that the department imposed penalty to the member whose material reaches after 6 hours to the destination which discouraged the industry. They opposed this practice on the plea that sometimes delay was caused during transportation due to one or another reason.

On the occasion, Kular handed over ten applications seeking the VAT refund to the DETC, the officer promised to clear these cases immediately.

The delegates included Inderjit Singh Navyug (Senior Vice President), Pardeep Wadhawan, (Secretary), Baljit Singh Lotey (Joint Secretary), Ajit Kumar (Propaganda Secretary), K.K Seth, Jaswinder Singh Birdi, Varinder Kapoor, Anil Sachdeva, Rajeev Jain , Jagatvir Singh , Rajnish Gupta and Subash Lakra.


Monday, September 17, 2012